TAKING PART IN “QUOZ HAPPENS” DUBAI UAE

NAZIR TANBOULI AT QUOZ HAPPENS, THE JAMJAR DUBAI UAE

NAZIR TANBOULI AT QUOZ HAPPENS, THE JAMJAR DUBAI UAE

I just returned from Dubai UAE where I took part in an annual event called Quoz Happens. Al Quoz is the industrial area of Dubai and it’s where the real art scene is, the galleries and spaces and alternative and artist run happenings. A bit like my own ‘hood of Hackney in fact. Until I actually got here I didn’t really understand what a big deal Quoz Happens is but it is really something. I was busy in the gallery – the Jamjar – all day so I didn’t see the rest of the event but trust me it was huge. see programme: quozhappens2013

I made a huge public engagement with the folks who came, working with students and emerging artists from Dubai to create massive paper murals through collaboration between all visitors to the space. During the day I worked on the wall, creating a big drawing mural. You can see a photo above – there will be more pix coming. I also gave  lectures, and a one-day workshop for emerging artist that was fantastic.

I’d like to thank the Domino, the artist-run organisation who organised the project, and the British Council who facilitated it.

About nazirtanbouli

British-Egyptian artist Nazir Tanbouli works in drawing, painting, book art and mural. He is based in London.
This entry was posted in drawing, live art and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

